For code/output blocks: Use ``` (aka backtick or grave accent) in a single line before and after the block. See: http://commonmark.org/help/

Renko Bricks

• administrators

Use the link below to go the original post

Click here to see the full blog post

• I'm sorry, but I can't not say it: Renko charts look adorable. The little bricks going up and down are just... so freakin' cute. I wouldn't mind hanging these things up on my wall or storing them in little books or making a quilt out of them.

Now that that's out of the way, I'm guessing that the Renko filter could be used as a data feed to build strategies so you can do backtests or compute statistics.

• Would that be possible to have the renko block values in table instead of a plot? (I apologize if the answer is obvious as I'm a beginner with python)

• administrators

It's not as difficult as it would seem

• Add a Writer to your Cerebro and the values of the data feed (your Renko bricks) will be printed as csv (i.e.: a table suitable for import in Excel for example)

See: Docs - Writer

• Thank you it works with this : cerebro.addwriter(bt.WriterFile,csv=True). That produces a csv table along with the cerebro stats at the end in the console. Does the backtrader package as a command to write only the data in a actual csv file or should I use another package like csv? Thanks again for helping a newbie.

• administrators

If you look in the docs, you can pass an out=xxx parameter to the call cerebro.addwriter, which is described as:

• out (default: sys.stdout): output stream to write to
      If a string is passed a filename with the content of the parameter will be used

Pass the name of a file or an open file.

• That works thank you. Although with the csv=True or False I can't remove the cerebro stats at the end of the file. I'll add some code to delete those lines because my goal is to add data to this csv file in real time and generate trading signals from it. Thanks again.

• administrators