Plotting JUST the account's value

• Hello all. I'm new to backtrader and I'm excited to learn it.

I've managed to set up a Simple Moving Average Crossover strategy to get started, that processes multiple stock symbols. The backtest does in fact work, which made me happy, but in a Jupyter notebook the resulting plot is cramped to the point that it's hard to read it. Most of the time I am interested only in the performance of the account. How can I get a plot of JUST what's happening in the account (it's overall value, cash available, like what's normally the top-most plot)? Is there a way to restrict, after the fact (so not by setting each symbol's plot parameter, and not redoing the backtest every time I want a new plot), which symbols actually get plotted? Is there a way to resize the plot? I've been looking through the documentation (excellent, by the way), and I'm struggling to see how these are controlled.

• administrators

The plotting functionality was designed with data as the centre of the plot.

The easiest way is to set data.plotinfo.plot = False for data feeds right after creation or passing data = MyDataFeed(dataname=xxx, plot=False) during creation.

For large numbers of symbols the 2nd approach seems easier if you pack that argument into kwargs and end up doing data = MyDataFeed(dataname=xxx, **kwargs). Thosekwargsmay contain other arguments likefromdate,todateandtimeframeandcompression`

• @backtrader This reply was helpful, and thank you for that! I've also been looking at your multiple series example as a reference. I figured out how to get all the series to plot together like in your example and I have a few questions.

• In the legend the plot produces only the last series is shown in the legend (in your example you only see d2; in mine, out of AAPL, GOOG, and MSFT, only MSFT appears in the legend). Is there some way to either show all series or suppress this aspect of the legend all together?