For code/output blocks: Use ``` (aka backtick or grave accent) in a single line before and after the block. See: http://commonmark.org/help/

Question on making an observer to track individual instrument values

• Hello, I am learning backtrader and really like it. I want to make an observer to track the values of individual instrument in the portfolio, say 5 different futures. I am thinking to have one line for each instrument, but how should I define the lines beforehand since the number of instruments could be different?

I look at the examples especially the trades observer, but it seems like they all have a fixed number of lines defined. The trades observer has pnlplus/pnlminus lines defined, and use different markers to track individual instrument.

Am I missing something obvious here? Can I initialize the lines tuple with number of instruments as parameter? Sorry for the simple question, I am still new to python. Thank you.

• Try starting your journey with this analyzer, PositionsValue, which works over any number of datas and returns the position value at each bar along with the cash position I believe.

• Thank you for the pointer. The PositionsValue analyzer does what I want. May I ask a further question? I know I can plot the result of this analyzer, but is it possible to make it an observer just like the Datatrades observer? This way it can be plotted directly using cerebro.plot() or Bokeh.