For code/output blocks: Use ``` (aka backtick or grave accent) in a single line before and after the block. See: http://commonmark.org/help/

defining a feed. Error message: Unexpected keyword argument 'dataname' in constructor call"

• Hey Guys,

I am new to Backtrader and I am stucking now for more than 2 weeks on this F*** problem.. I don't know why the compiler gives me back an error every time.. So now to my Code.

I wrote a simple GoldenCross.py Script. In this script there is definitely no error. Now I want to run the GoldenCross Script with mx run.py Script it looks like this:

import pandas as pd 
    import backtrader as bt 
    from Strategien.GoldenCross import GoldenCross
    import datetime

cerebro = bt.Cerebro()
    cerebro.broker.setcash(100000)

pathIndex = "/Users/me/Desktop/allgemein/Visual Studio/Stock Data/Index EOD Data/^GSPC.csv"
    # read csv, parse date, use dates col as index
    stock_prices = pd.read_csv(pathIndex, index_col=[0], parse_dates=[0])

print(stock_prices)
    # create data feed pandas df
    feed = bt.feeds.PandasData(dataname=stock_prices)
    # add feed
    cerebro.adddata(feed)

cerebro.addstrategy(GoldenCross)
    cerebro.run()
     cerebro.plot(style='bar')

Now my compiler gives me back this error message: "Unexpected keyword argument 'dataname' in constructor call" I now tried pretty much everything, but it doesn't work!! Why does the compiler underlines the "bt." in this line:

feed = bt.feeds.PandasData(dataname=stock_prices)

and say, that the argument "dataname" is wrong?? In every script I saw, everybody write it exactly like this... Please help me!

• Switch to terminal window in your VS Code, type python your_script_name.py, and work with the errors returned by python. Skip what pylintreturns you.

• Hey @ab_trader, if I type python run.py in the MacBook terminal, the terminal gives me back "can't open file 'run.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory