For code/output blocks: Use ``` (aka backtick or grave accent) in a single line before and after the block. See: http://commonmark.org/help/

Continuous working of limit orders

• Hi there BT community.

Been using Backtrader for a few months now, and love it. Such a great resource.

However I'm not a great coder, and am struggling with a concept for a mean reversion strategy. Any guidance would be much appreciated. To explain, I have created a stationary time series, and would like to continually work limit orders at the calculated top and bottom Bollinger Bands.

So for buys, say the lower Bollinger is at a price of 10, I would like to be always working a bid to buy at 10, so that I know if I see a close at 9 in the self.data.close[0], I would have a fill in the real world.

Up to now, I've been using something like:

if self.data.close[0] < self.bband.lines.bot: 
        self.log('BUY, %.4f' % (self.data.close[0]))
        self.order = self.buy()

But this (as expected) only generating an order after the close is through the lower Bollinger Band.

I have tried playing with cheat on close, and also to make it a limit order and set the price to be the self.bband.lines.bot[-1]. But I've not managed to get it to work. And it feels like I'm looking for the solution in the wrong place.

Could anyone help with setting up the strategy? To be clear, I would like to have orders in the market already, so that if the price series trades through my limit orders, I will have a fill at the calculated bollinger band [-1] levels, not the most recent close.

Many thanks,
    Chris.

• administrators

Really, I have tried to decode the information you tried to paste into this message and I couldn't.

See

1. The title is "Continous working of limit orders", but the code shown issues a Market order
    2. cheat-on-close is meant only for Market orders, yet it is mentoned.

Then
    @chrismo said in Continuous working of limit orders: